Preferences Cleaning

by Andor Szőke, Marton Kiss, GRAPHISOFT and Emőke Csikós · updated: 07.11.2017

 

ARCHICAD saves ‘Preferences’ and ‘Work Environment’ files to ensure you find your own customized environment next time you start ARCHICAD. In rare cases these files can become corrupt preventing ARCHICAD from starting or possibly causing crashes. In such cases, as a troubleshooting step, try delete these files. (For troubleshooting crashes, please also see: crash.) Removing the preference files does no harm; ARCHICAD will re-create these files with default settings the next time you run ARCHICAD. You may however lose some of your modifications to the ARCHICAD interface, such as customized shortcuts, palette locations, etc. to avoid that, before deleting any files or folders: create a backup copy.


Preparation Steps

  • Have your BIM Server address, username and password written down or stored in a text file.
  • Send in all changes in all Teamwork projects to make sure the BIM Server has the latest changes, not just your computer.
  • Store and export your customized Work Environment.
  • If you have custom IFC or DWG translators you should export those to a folder also.

 

Cleaning preferences on a MAC

Delete following files and folders (where xx stands for the version number of ArchiCAD and yyy is the localisation of ArchiCAD):

  • ~/Library/Preferences/Graphisoft/AC xx.0.0 yyy v1 folder – this folder contains the basic preferences files and all the Work Environment files
  • ~/Library/Preferences/com.Graphisoft.AC xx.0.0 yyy v1.plist – this file contains some basic settings of ArchiCAD. The Windows equivalent of this file are the Registry keys
  • ~/Library/Caches/Graphisoft folder – this folder contains library cache files and the local cache copy of network libraries
  • ~/Library/Application Support/Graphisoft folder – this folder contains the Archicad autosave folder, the ArchiCAD templates, the DXF-DWG translators, IFC preferences, Bug reporter log files, publisher log files and the local cache of the TeamWork projects. Note: You may want to back up this folder in order to keep your Work Environment files and DXF-DWG translators. In case having unsent changes in TeamWork projects, then do not delete ~/Library/Application Support/Graphisoft/TW Data folder.

{i} ~/ means the current user’s home folder. Users/<username>

{i} No Library Folder? Starting with OS X 10.7, the Library folder within the userhome folder is hidden by default. To browse the ~/Library folder:

  • In Finder choose Go, Go To Folder
  • Type ~/Library
  • Click go to navigate to the Library folder
  • Or simply press option (alt) when the Go menu is open in Finder to show Library on the list

Cleaning preferences on a PC

STEP 1:

Delete following files and folders:

Windows 10 (and 8.1, 8, 7):

  • Users\<Username>\AppData\Roaming\Graphisoft\ folder – this folder contains the basic preferences files and all the Work Environment files
  • Users\<Username>\AppData\Local\Graphisoft\ folder – this folder contains library cache files and the local cache copy of network libraries, and IFC settings
  • Users\<Username>\Graphisoft\ folder – this folder contains ARCHICAD templates, crash logs, publisher log files, IFC and DXF-DWG Translator files and the local cache of the TeamWork projects

/!\ In case having unsent changes in TeamWork projects, then do not delete <userhome>Graphisoft\TW Data folder.

Windows XP:

  • Documents and Settings\<Username>\Application Data\Graphisoft\ folder – this folder contains the basic preferences files and all the Work Environment files
  • Documents and Settings\<Username>\Local Settings\Application Data\Graphisoft\ folder – this folder contains library cache files and the local cache copy of network libraries, and IFC settings
  • Documents and Settings\<Username>\Graphisoft folder – this folder contains ARCHICAD templates, crash logs, publisher log files and the local cache of the TeamWork projects

{i} No AppData folder? It is often hidden by default. You can show hidden files and folders. To do this you need to open Control Panel and go to File Explorer Options. Open the View tab and under Hidden files and folders tick the second radio button shown on the image below:

 

STEP 2:

Note: This steps is for expert-level users. If you are not familiar with Windows Registry, skip this step!

Run REGEDIT . There go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER/SOFTWARE/ and delete the entry called Graphisoft.

STEP 3:

Restart ARCHICAD.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • 11   ​5

Related content

AutoSave Files

  AutoSave is a feature of ArchiCAD, which protects data in case of a program or system crash, power outage or sudden termination of the program. You can customize autosave frequency and the AutoSave destination folder in Work Environment/ Data…

GRAPHISOFT Bug Reporter

Starting with ArchiCAD 9 , it is possible to submit Crash reports on-line to Graphisoft. How to submit Crash Report In case a crash occurs select Send Now... to connect Graphisoft for submitting the report file. If the connection is succesful, your…

Altering ArchiCAD behavior - Registry or Preferences?

In some cases, the only way to activate a feature, or change the behaviour of ArchiCAD is by editing software configuration keys maintained by the operating system. On a PC this configuration system is called the Registry. On a Mac these configuration…