The permissions are listed in rows; and the roles are shown in columns. The column headers indicate where and how that role was assigned to the selected user/group.
Click Edit on the header to make the Custom role editable. (The Custom role column is the only place where you can revoke a permission.)
The result of the editing is immediately shown in the Summary column. Click Save to store your changes.