Data Safety & Integrity

(Options > Work Environment > Data Safety & Integrity)

Use the features of the Data Safety & Integrity dialog box (Options > Work Environment > Data Safety & Integrity) to minimize the risk of data loss and file corruption. This is especially important if your power lines suffer from voltage spikes or failures, or if your computer is prone to software conflicts.

//helpcenter.graphisoft.com/wp-content/uploads/ac21_help/appendix-settings/DataWE.png 

Saving to Recovery File

The Saving to Recovery File function controls a number of options protecting you against losing work. If you are forced to restart your computer or the program because of a crash, then the next time you launch ARCHICAD, a dialog box gives you the option of resuming the interrupted work.

When Saving to Recovery File is triggered, the Bulldozer cursor may appear momentarily on the screen while the program saves any changes made to the Project since the last Saving to Recovery File (or manual Save). Even with large Projects, Saving to Recovery File should complete its cycle within a few seconds.

Saving to Recovery File Options:

Ultra Safe: The default and recommended option. Data is saved to a recovery file after each step.

Safe: Saves data every 5 minutes.

Minimum Saves data every 20 minutes.

There are three limitations to Saving to Recovery File functions. The following items must be saved manually:

Opened Library Parts

Completed PhotoRendering Images

All types of Calculation Lists

If ARCHICAD is restarted after a crash, it will detect the Recovery File data and prompt you to open it.

Important: Opening the Recovery file at this point is the ONLY way you can recover saved data; it is recommended that you open it! By opening it, you will recover the full project content at the time of the last Recovery save, including half-completed PhotoRenderings. If you choose not to open it, the Recovery data will be deleted.

Recovery Folder: The Recovery Folder stores the saved documents at the specified location:

Use Default Location, or

Choose Location and then Browse among folders on your computer or across a network.

Changes to the settings of the Recovery Folder will take effect after the program is restarted.

Undo Limit: This field allows you to set the number of undoable steps.

See also Undo/Redo.

Make Backup Copy: Mark this checkbox to create a backup copy of the previously saved version of your work, by appending the “.bak” extension to its name.

For creating backups of Shared Projects, see also Teamwork.

Teamwork ‘Send’ Reminder

Check this box to have ARCHICAD automatically display an on-screen reminder to Send your changes while you work in Teamwork.

Enter how often the notification should appear:

after a certain number of actions in the project, or

after a certain number of minutes

(whichever comes first).

See Automatic Reminder to Send Changes.

Data Integrity

Hotlink Update

Controls whether ARCHICAD should check the status of Hotlink Modules whenever you open a project and/or begin document output (e.g. Publish).

Ignore Hotlinks: Choose this option to ignore any modification made on hotlinked files. This is the fastest opening option for a file containing Modules.

Check Hotlinks and ask for update confirmation: When opening or outputting a project, ARCHICAD looks for all hotlinked files and checks their modification date. An alert will appear asking you to confirm whether you want to update modifications or not. This is the default setting in the program.

Check and update Hotlinks automatically: When opening or outputting a project, ARCHICAD updates all Modules that are hotlinked to modified files.

Should there be any problem in the course of the automatic updating process, choose the first option (Ignore Hotlinks), open your file again, and then update the hotlinks manually through the Hotlink Module Manager dialog box.

Note: The option you choose here will be preserved in your Preferences file, but will not be saved with the Project.

Release All (Teamwork)

The Release All with Send Changes preference affects whether ARCHICAD will automatically release all your reservations whenever you Close a Teamwork project using the Send option.

See Keep or Release Your Reservations with Send & Save.

Automatically Check Status of All Hotlinks in Hotlink Module Manager

With this default setting enabled, ARCHICAD will check the status of Hotlinks each time you open Hotlink Module Manager. In projects with many hotlinks, the auto-check process might slow things down. In this case, uncheck the box.

Automatically reserve elements when editing them

This Teamwork feature is enabled by default. Whenever you work on an element in Teamwork, it is reserved by you automatically, whenever possible.

If Auto-reserve should slow down your work, you will be prompted to uncheck this feature. You can then Reserve elements as needed, by clicking the Reserve button in Teamwork Palette or from context menus

Teamwork Messaging

Use this control to manage the number of stored Teamwork messages. Check the Limit Number of Completed Messages to box and enter the maximum number of messages you wish to store. Once you reach that limit, your oldest messages will be deleted.