Basic Editing Operations

The Edit > Cut command removes selected elements from a Project and places them on the Clipboard for future use via the Paste command. It can also be used for dialog box or Coordinates Palette numeric field contents.
Note: The Cut command is not available in the 3D Window.
The selection can be made with either the Arrow or the Marquee tool, or by Shift+clicking.
In Text type windows, you can use the Cut command as in any word processor.
The Edit > Copy command puts the selected construction or text elements on the Clipboard, but the selected elements are not removed from the original document.
The selection can be made with either the Arrow or the Marquee tool, or by Shift+clicking.
Note: To Drag, Rotate, or Mirror a Copy, press Ctrl while executing the regular Drag, Rotate or Mirror command.
In the 3D window, the Copy command is only available with the Marquee tool.
Use Edit > Paste command to insert the contents of the Clipboard onto the current Project or a text Window.
When pasting cut elements into a Section/Elevation/IE, 3D Document or Detail/Worksheet window, the elements are pasted as drawing primitives (points, lines and fills).
The Paste command is not available in the 3D window.
If you Cut/Copy and then Paste a selection between stories at the same zoom level with no Panning operations in between, the contents of the Clipboard are pasted into the same position they were originally cut or copied from.
The Edit Elements by Stories Dialog Box provides a quick way to copy elements from one story to another without having to redraw them for each story.
The Edit > Delete command removes selected items from Project or text Windows. The deleted elements are not preserved on the Clipboard. They are easily retrieved by Undo.
The keyboard equivalent of Delete is hitting the Backspace or Delete key. Deleting construction elements in any model window (Floor Plan, 3D, model-type Section/Elevation/IE, or 3D Document) will also clear these elements from all the other windows.
Note: Deleting any additional (i.e. manually added) elements from a model-type Section/Elevation/IE window or a 3D Document, or any elements from a drawing-type Section/Elevation/IE window will leave all other windows unchanged.
The Undo and Redo commands allow you to undo (revert to a previous step) and redo a large number of construction operations. The name of the command to be undone is displayed in the menu along with the Undo or Redo command.
The number of steps that can be undone and redone (the “undo queue”) is set using in the Options > Work Environment > Data Safety & Integrity dialog box (Undo Limit). The default value is 20.
Warning: The undo queue is cleared entirely whenever you do the following operations:
Important: Operations involving Navigator/Organizer items (such as drag and drop between Navigator maps, deleting items from a map, or adding items to the Publisher set) are not added to the undo queue, and are not undoable.
  • Was this Helpful ?
  • 0   ​0